Raf Simons, Mike Amiri And Virgil Abloh Among This Year’s CFDA Nominees

After fashion week comes award season. A few days ago, LVMH released the final list of nominees for their prestigious award which is set to be handed out early in June. More recently, the CFDA have announced their nominees for the year and its quite and interesting mix of industry professionals, emerging talents and well established names.

Raf Simons and Vigil Abloh are both nominated in the category of Mens- and Womenswear designer of the year. Interesting addition to that list is James Jebbia of Supreme, who was nominated in the Menswear category along with Thom Browne and Tom Ford. We guess this means Supreme, and therefore streetwear in general have officially made it to be big leagues and are no longer “underground”.

Looking at emerging talent, Mike Amiri was nominated for his eponymous label alongside Kirby Jean-Raymond’s Pyer Moss.

Check out the full list of nominees below.

Womenswear Designer of the Year

Raf Simons for Calvin Klein

Gabriela Hearst

Marc Jacobs

Virgil Abloh for Off-White

Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row

Menswear Designer of the Year

Raf Simons for Calvin Klein

Virgil Abloh for Off-White

James Jebbia for Supreme

Thom Browne

Tom Ford

Accessory Designer of the Year

Paul Andrew

Stuart Vevers for Coach

Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel for Mansur Gavriel

Irene Neuwirth

Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row

The Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent

Miki Amiri for Amiri

Laura Vassar Brock and Kristopher Brock for Brock Collection

Aurora James for Brother Vellies

Kirby Jean-Raymond for Pyer Moss

Sander Lak for Sies Marjan

The Swarovski Award for Positive Change

Diane von Furstenberg

Geoffrey Beene

Lifetime Achievement Award

Narciso Rodriguez

The Founder’s Award

Carolina Herrera

The Media Award in Honor of Eugenia Shepherd

Edward Enninful

The International Award

Donatella Versace


Image via The Fashion Law.

Scroll to Top
Optimized with PageSpeed Ninja